Home / Teams / Lahore Qalandars / Lahore Qalandars Team Players List 2017

Lahore Qalandars Team Players List 2017

Lahore Qalandars Squad for PSL 2017

Lahore Qalandars 2017 Team Squad

PSL Lahore Qalandars players list is placed here. The second edition of the Pakistan Super League is set to get under way early next year in the month of February. Lahore Qalandars gave away Chris Gayle to Karachi Kings for Sohail Tanvir which was bit of a surprise and they will hope it is a move that does not come back to bite them. Sohaib Maqsood was traded with Aamer Yamin of Peshawar Zalmi.

Key Players in Lahore Qalandar team 2017: Brendon McCullum, Umar Akmal, Sohail Tanvir

Unfortunately for the Lahore Qalandars West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo won’t be available for the competition after his injury during the Big Bash League which means England opener Jason Roy comes into the squad. He will be a part of the squad till February 20. Shaun Tait misses out because of injury and that means Aussie spinner Chris Green gets his first look-in to a domestic T20 tournament outside Australia. Anton Devcich has also been replaced by fellow Kiwi all-rounder James Franklin.

Former South Africa international coach Paddy Upton has been put in charge by the owners of this franchise. Upton is a reputed coach with plenty of experience at the biggest stage and his presence in the dressing room is likely to have a very positive impact on the players.

The draft process was conducted across a couple of days in the same manner in which it is done in the United States for the National Football League (NFL). Lahore struck big in the player draft especially when it came to foreign players.

During the Draft, the Qalandars have also recruited South African Cameron Delport in their line-up.

Umar Akmal leads the presence as far as Pakistani internationals are concerned besides Mohammad Rizwan, Yasir Shah, Azhar Ali, Bilawal Bhatti and Sohail Tanvir.

Akmal’s career blossomed early on but his stock has since fallen. He is currently in a battle to hold down his place in the Pakistan lineup and the tournament can decide his future as an international cricketer as well

The one other change has been the passing of captaincy from Azhar Ali to Brendon McCullum. Azhar continues to remain a part of the Lahore side but the role has been taken over by the former Kiwi skipper McCullum for this season.

The Lahore franchise were bought by the Qatar Oil Group for a princely sum of $2.4 million (USD). They have been able to pool some of the best talents from within Pakistan as well as world cricket as the world gets ready for the first ever Pakistan Super League. Lahore Qalandar squad 2017 players list is placed below.

Lahore Qalandars Squad 2017

Pakistani Players List

  • Umar Akmal
  • Azhar Ali
  • Sohail Tanvir
  • Aamer Yamin
  • Yasir Shah
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Bilawal Bhatti
  • Ghulam Mudassar
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Usman Qadir
  • Zafar Gohar

Foreign Players List

  • Brendon McCullum (Captain)
  • Sunil Narine
  • Jason Roy (replaced injured Dwayne Bravo)
  • James Franklin (replaced injured Anton Devcich)
  • Cameron Delport
  • Chris Green (replaced injured Shaun Tait)

Supplementary Players List

  • Grant Elliot
  • Chris Green (replaced injured Shaun Tait)
  • Saif Badar
  • Mohammad Irfan (Jr.)

PSL 2017 Lahore Qalandars Schedule

Date Lahore Qalandars Fixtures Venue
February 10, 2017 Lahore Qalandars vs Quetta Gladiators Dubai
February 11, 2017 Islamabad United vs Lahore Qalandars Dubai
February 12, 2017 Peshawar Zalmi vs Lahore Qalandars Dubai
February 16, 2017 Lahore Qalandars vs Karachi Kings Sharjah
February 18, 2017 Quetta Gladiators vs Lahore Qalandars Sharjah
February 20, 2017 Lahore Qalandars vs Islamabad United Sharjah
February 24, 2017 Peshawar Zalmi vs Lahore Qalandars Dubai
February 25, 2017 Lahore Qalandars vs Karachi Kings Dubai

About admin

Check Also

Islamabad United Team Players List 2017

Islamabad United Team Players List 2017 Islamabad United Squad 2017 PSL Islamabad team players list is …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *