Home / Teams / Islamabad United / Islamabad United Team Players List 2017

Islamabad United Team Players List 2017

Islamabad United Team Players List 2017

Islamabad United Squad 2017

PSL Islamabad team players list is placed here. The euphoria surrounding the inaugural edition of the PSL is coming to a head with the tournament all set to take off in February 2017. Islamabad United are getting ready for the same with some shrewd moves in the player auctions. Fawad Afzal Khan is appointed the brand ambassador for the team.

Key Players on Islamabad United team 2017: Misbah ul Haq, Andre Russell, Shane Watson

There are injury concerns with Andre Russell, after he had ruled himself out of the Big Bash League in the middle of the tournament but he has been retained for now.

Islamabad will continue to be led by Pakistan captain Misbal ul Haq in the 2017 PSL. There are some big Pakistan internationals in the side which include Mohammad Irfan, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Sami and Khalid Latif among others.

Although Sami is past his prime and only featured in the Bangladesh Premier League earlier this year, he showed that he still possesses the cunning which helped him establish himself in the national team. Sharjeel has been in the Pakistani international set-up as well while Mohammad Irfan will look to build on it. Irfan has been firing on all cylinders for Pakistan and will look to do the same for Islamabad United.

They have also made very important international additions. Shane Watson, Andre Russell, Samuel Badree, Brad Haddin, and Sam Billings all offer different dimensions in the side. Watson and Russell are world class operators with both bat and ball. Russell in particular could be extremely destructive and is an asset to have if the team is chasing but the one thing to look out for is Russell has taken bit of a break from cricket because of issues off the field.

Badree is a proven spinner while Haddin’s retirement means that he will be available for the complete duration of the tournament. The former Australia wicket-keeper has been doing well in the Big Bash League this year. Billings did well in England’s tour of UAE as they took on Pakistan and the team management took note of the same.

The side were bought by the UAE Capital Venture group for $1.5 million US dollars and they have put some very able minds in charge of the side. Former Pakistan bowler Wasim Akram has been named as the director with Australian Dean Jones as the head coach. Shoaib Akhtar is the bowling coach for Islamabad United.

The team is beautifully balanced on paper and they can go in with a variety of combinations. Also, with the kind of coaches they have, it will be very disappointing if they do not go very far in the tournament. Islamabad United PSL team players list is placed below.

Islamabad United 2017 Squad

Pakistani Players List for Islamabad United 2017

  • Misbah ul Haq (Captain)
  • Sharjeel Khan
  • Asif Ali
  • Saeed Ajmal
  • Mohammad Irfan
  • Rumman Raees
  • Imran Khalid
  • Mohammad Sami
  • Khalid Latif
  • Hussain Talat
  • Amad Butt
  • Syed Muzammil Shah

Foreign Players List

  • Shane Watson
  • Andre Russell
  • Samuel Badree
  • Brad Haddin
  • Sam Billings

Supplementary Players List

  • Dwayne Smith
  • Ben Duckkett
  • Shadab Khan
  • Zohaib Khan

PSL 2017 Islamabad United Schedule

Date Islamabad United Fixtures Venue
February 9, 2017 Peshawar Zalmi vs Islamabad United Dubai
February 11, 2017 Islamabad United vs Lahore Qalandars Dubai
February 15, 2017 Islamabad United vs Quetta Gladiators Sharjah
February 17, 2017 Karachi Kings vs Islamabad United Sharjah
February 18, 2017 Islamabad United vs Peshawar Zalmi Sharjah
February 20, 2017 Lahore Qalandars vs Islamabad United Sharjah
February 24, 2017 Quetta Gladiators vs Islamabad United Dubai
February 26, 2017 Karachi Kings vs Islamabad United Dubai

About admin

Check Also

Karachi Kings Team Players List 2017

Karachi Kings Squad for PSL 2017 Karachi Kings 2017 Squad PSL 2017 Karachi Kings players list …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *